Oatmeal chocolate chocolate chips muffins

Standard

I love having a dessert, but I don’t like paying too much for it in calories, so I always try to find out ways to make things lighter but the same tasty. I came up with this recipe because recently I got a chocolate muffin from Tim Hortons and when I checked in my food journal how much calories it has, it was 410 kcal!!! That would be 1/3 of my daily calorie intake if I don’t work out. It is not that I am crazy about calories and watch everything that I eat scrupulously, but I want to loose weight without torture 🙂 I think that this is too big price to pay for something that would not bring that much pleasure. So, I decided to make muffins and to know what I am eating and feel good about it.

I came found in my food cabinet oatmeal muffin mix that required just adding water and one muffin was worth 150 kcal. I just pimp it up a bit and then I got delicious muffins that I can enjoy guilt free. for 7 muffins I needed:

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups muffin mix (225g. yelds for 6 muffins)

3/4 cups of water

50g chocolate chips

1 tbsp pure cocoa.

1tsp of sweet spices mix (optional)

 

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 400F. Lightly coat muffin tin with cooking spray. Put muffin mix, spices, cocoa and half of chocolate chips in to the bowl, breaking up any lumps. Add water. Blend with wooden spoon, just until moistened. Divide batter evenly into 7 muffin tin holes. Sprinkle the rest of chocolate chips on the top of muffins. Bake for around 25 mins. They came out really delicious and for the first time I was glad using pre-made mix even though I am usually very sceptical about it.

One muffin has 165 kcal., 3.3g of fat, 31.3g. of carbs and 2.4g. of protein.

 

Leave a Reply

