White chocolate and ricotta cheesecake

Standard

I already made this cheesecake for the 1st of January when we were having dinner with Keven’s family. His dad said that it is the best cake he ever tasted. I consider that a great compliment. We are having a family dinner tomorrow with relatives and Keven’s mom asked me to make this cheesecake. I chose it to make in first case because I had ricotta back then at home and because I did not have to bake. My oven is a bit crappy and it heats only top, so I did not want to experiment with a dessert for a dinner back then.  This not the picture of the cheesecake that I made and I did not add granite and I used mixed curls of chocolate instead of just white chocolate.

Ingredients

For the base

  • 70g butter , melted
  • 200g biscuits (I used Maria biscuits)
  • sunflower oil , for greasing

For the filling

  • 200g white chocolate , chopped or white chocolate chips.
  • 5 leaves gelatine or 1 pack of gelatine powder (follow the instructions)
  • 6 tbsp milk
  • 500g ricotta
  • 300ml whipped cream
  • 60g icing sugar
  • 2 large eggs , separated

To decorate:

  • white and milk chocolate curls (I simply melt chocolate over boiling water. The use some mat to spread it over. Put in freezer for couple hours and then using knife make curls. Check video. Although I found that using the amount of shortening that they offer makes the curls a bit too soft)
  • icing sugar , for dusting (optional)

Method

  1. Heat oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6. Melt the butter in a pan or microwave. Very finely crush the biscuits together, stir with the butter, then press very firmly into the base of a 20cm round loosebottomed cake tin. Bake for 6 mins. Cool, then wipe around the inside of the tin with a little oil on kitchen paper.
  2. Soak the gelatine in water while you make the filling. Tip the chocolate into a bowl over a pan of simmering water, then add the milk. Gently heat until melted, then stir together. Squeeze the gelatine dry, add to the chocolate mixture and stir to dissolve.

or

I melted the chocolate. Then prepared gelatine by the pack instructions. I put 3 tbsp. of milk in bowl, the pour over the powder of gelatine. Added 3 tbsp of boiling water and mixed for 2 mins. until gelatine dissolved. Then I mixed this with melted white chocolate.

           3. Beat the ricotta, cream, sugar and egg yolks together. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites.

           4. Stir the chocolate and ricotta mixtures together, then gently fold in the egg whites. Carefully pour onto the cooled biscuit base. Cover the tin with cling film, then chill until firm, preferably overnight.

           5. To decorate, very generously top the cheesecake with the chocolate curls, then remove from the tin,  dust all over with icing sugar, if you like.

The original recipe is from BBC Good Food. 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Australia Day cheesecake | Gary Lum's Blog and website

Leave a Reply

